Member Type Global Intergovernmental Organization or Multilateral Environmental Agreement

The Commonwealth Secretariat



Dr. Nick Hardman-Mountford
The Commonwealth Secretariat
Head of Oceans and Natural Resources
[email protected]

Heidi Prislan
The Commonwealth Secretariat
Blue Charter Adviser
[email protected]


Social Media


The Commonwealth Blue Charter is an agreement by all 54 Commonwealth countries, adopted at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in London, April 2018. In the Blue Charter, Commonwealth countries agree to actively cooperate to solve ocean-related challenges and meet commitments for sustainable ocean development, with particular emphasis on the UN Sustainable Development Goals, especially SDG 14 (Life Below Water).

Commonwealth Blue Charter Action Groups implement the Blue Charter. They are member-driven, led by ‘Champion’ countries. To date, 16 countries have stepped forward to be Champions on ten topics they identified as priorities: Commonwealth Clean Ocean Alliance, Coral Reef Protection and Restoration, Mangrove Ecosystems and Livelihoods, Marine Protected Areas, Ocean Acidification, Ocean and Climate Change, Ocean Observation, Sustainable Aquaculture, Sustainable Blue Economy, and Sustainable Coastal Fisheries.

Australia, Belize and Mauritius are co-championing the Commonwealth Blue Charter Action Group on Coral Reef Protection and Restoration. This Action Group highlights good practices in the protection and restoration of coral reefs. Each champion brings relevant expertise and experience to the Action Group, to be shared and developed with interested member countries. It is also a platform to promote collaborative research, workshops and seminars, showcasing successful case studies among the Commonwealth.

Related website:

The Commonwealth Blue Charter
Additional information
  • Forty-seven of our 54 member countries (87% of the Commonwealth) have a coastline, including 25 small island developing states (2/3 of the global whole).
  • A total of 37 out of the 54 Commonwealth member countries have warm water coral reefs, accounting for 45% of the global whole by area. Of the 20 countries with the largest coral reef area, 10 are within the Commonwealth.

Last Updated: 17 October 2023